Buhari Shuns Obasanjo, Renames  Railway Stations After Saraki, Tinubu, Osinbajo, Soyinka, Others (See Full List)

The President Muhammadu Buhari has renamed railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after “deserving citizens who have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large”, the Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, has said.

This was contained in a statement by the Ministry of Transportation on Monday titled, ‘Buhari Names Railway Stations After Prominent Nigerians’.

However, AMILOADED observed that a Nigerian military and political leader who served as military head of state from 1976 to 1979 and later as President of Nigeria from 1999 to 2007, Olusegun Obasanjo, was missing in list.

According to the statement signed by the ministry’s Director, Press and Public Relations, Eric Ojiekwe, the minister disclosed that the Apapa Station has been named after the All Progressives Congress stalwart, Bola Tinubu; the Abeokuta station named after respectable Nobel Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka, while the Ajaokuta Station was conferred on Olusola Saraki, the late father of former Senate President, Bukola Saraki.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former Kwara State Governor late Olusola Saraki, former Lagos State Governor Ahmed Tinubu and Nigerian Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka were among those honoured.

While the Apapa station was named after Tinubu, the Kajola station was named after Prof Osinbajo and Abeokuta station was named after Prof. Soyinka.

Ajaokuta station was named after the late Saraki.

Also honoured are Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station), Babatunde Raji Fashola (Agege station), Lateef Jakande (Agbado station) and Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station)

Others are Aremo Segun Osoba(Olodo station), Chief Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station), Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station), Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).

Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station), Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo station), Brigadier General George Innih (Agenebode station), Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station), Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station) and Brig. Gen. Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (rtd) (Igbanke station).

Others according to the statement include Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (Agbor Station Complex), Brigadier General David Ejoor (Abraka station), Micheal Ibru (Opara station), Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station) and Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.