107 Private Varsities To Be Investigated By FG’s Panel (Full List)


The Federal Government through the Federal Ministry of Education on Tuesday, inaugurated an inter-ministerial committee to look into the activities of private and foreign universities operating in the country.

The committee has, as some of its members, the Registrar of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board, Prof. Ishaq Oloyede; the Minister of Youths, Jamila Bio-Ibrahim; and the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Yusuf Tuggar among others.

One of the committee’s terms of reference stated that private universities established in the last 15 years be investigated.

“Without prejudice to the periodic accreditation exercise of the NUC, examine whether or not private universities established in the last 15 years have in the place prescribed facilities, appropriate management structure, adequate funding of programmes, requisite staff (nature of staff-full time, contract, adjunct, visiting, other types),” the term of reference read.

Already, Nigeria has a total of 147 private universities as listed on the website of the NUC.

Analysis of the dates of establishments revealed that 107 private universities were established in the last 15 years.

according to Punch the highlighted private universities are established in the last 15 years that may fall under the searchlight of the FG’s investigative panel.

They are;

  1. Adeleke University, Ede, Osun State
  2. Baze University, FCT Abuja
  3. Landmark University, Omu-Aran, Kwara State
  4. Glorious Vision University (formerly Samuel Adegboyega University), Ogwa, Edo State
  5. McPherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo, Ogun State
  6. Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin, Ondo State
  7. Southwestern University, Oku Owa, Ogun State
  8. Evangel University, Ebonyi State
  9. Gregory University, Uturu, Abia State
  10. Augustine University, Ilara, Lagos State
  11. Chrisland University, Owode, Ogun State
  12. Christopher University, Mowe, Ogun State
  13. Hallmark University, Ijebu-Itele, Ogun State
  14. Kings University Ode-Omu, Osun State
  15. Michael & Cecilia Ibru University, Owhode, Delta State
  16. Mountain Top University, Makogi/Oba, Ogun State
  17. Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwalbom State
  18. Summit University, Offa, Kwara State
  19. Edwin Clark University, Kiagbodo, Delta State
  20. Hezekiah University, Umudi, Imo State
  21. Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos State
  22. Arthur Jarvis University, Akpabuyo, Cross River State
  23. Clifford University, Abia State
  24. Coal City University, Enugu state
  25. Ojaja University, Ilorin, Kwara state
  26. Dominican University, Ibadan, Oyo State
  27. Kola Daisi University., Ibadan, Oyo State
  28. Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State
  29. Spiritan University, Neochi, Abia State
  30. Precious Cornerstone, Ibadan, Oyo State
  31. PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Port-Harcourt, Rivers State
  32. Atiba University, Oyo, Oyo State
  33. Eko University of Medical Sciences, Ijanikin, Lagos
  34. Skyline University, Nigeria, Kano, Kano State
  35. Greenfield University, Kasarami-Kaduna, Kaduna State
  36. Dominion University, Ibadan, Oyo State
  37. Trinity University, Laloko, Ogun State
  38. Westland University, Iwo, Osun State
  39. Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa-Ibom State
  40. Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara State
  41. Maranatha University, Lekki, Lagos State
  42. Ave-Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa State

43.AL-Istigama University, Sumaila, Kano State

  1. Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo State
  2. Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River State
  3. Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo State
  4. Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau State
  5. Nok University, Kachia, Kaduna State
  6. James Hope University, Lekki, Lagos state
  7. Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano, Kano State
  8. Capital City University, Kano, Kano State
  9. Ahman Pategi University, Patigi, Kwara State
  10. University of Offa, Offa, Kwara State
  11. Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa State
  12. Edusoko University, Bida, Niger State
  13. Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja
  14. Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa State
  15. ANAN University, Kwall, Plateau State
  16. Pen Resource University, Gombe, Gombe State

60.Al-Ansar University, Maiduguri, Borno

  1. Margaret Lawrence University, Galilee, Delta State
  2. Khalifa Isiyaku Rabiu University, Kano, Kano State
  3. Sports University, Idumuje, Ugboko, Delta State
  4. Baba-Ahmed University, Kano, Kano State
  5. Salsa University Of Medical Sciences and Technology, Sokoto, Sokoto State
  6. Nigerian British University, Asa, Abia State
  7. Peter University, Achina-Onneh, Anambra State
  8. Newgate University, Minna, Niger State
  9. European University of Nigeria, Abuja, FCT
  10. Northwest University, Sokoto, Sokoto State
  11. Rayhaan University, Kebbi State
  12. Muhammad Kamalud-Deen University, Ilorin, Kwara State
  13. Sam Maris University, Supare, Ondo State
  14. Aletheia University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State
  15. Lux Mundi University, Umuahia, Abia State
  16. Maduka University, Ekwegbe, Enugu State
  17. Peaceland University, Enugu, Enugu State
  18. Amadeus University, Amizi, Abia State
  19. Vision University, Ikogbo, Ogun State
  20. Azman University, Kano, Kano State
  21. Huda University, Gusau, Zamfara State
  22. Franco British International University, Kaduna, Kaduna State
  23. Canadian University of Nigeria, Abuja, FCT
  24. Miva Open University, Abuja, FCT
  25. Gerar University of Medical Sciences, Imope-ljebu, Ogun State
  26. British Canadian University, Obudu, Cross River State
  27. Hensard University, Toru-Orua, Bayelsa State

88.Phoenix University, Agwada, Nasarawa State

  1. Wigwe University, Isiokpo, Rivers State
  2. Hillside University of Science and Technology, Okemesi Ekiti, Ekiti State
  3. University on the Niger, Umunya, Anambra State
  4. Elrazi University of Medical Sciences, Kano Kano State
  5. Venite University, Iloro-Ekiti, Ekiti State

94 Shanahan University, Onitsha, Anambra State

  1. Duke Medical University, Calabar, Cross River State
  2. Mercy Medical University, Iwara, Iwo, Osun State

97.Cosmopolitan University, Abuja, FCT

  1. Iconic Open University, Sokoto, Sokoto State
  2. West Midland Open University, Ibadan, Oyo State
  3. Amaj University, Abuja, FCT
  4. Prime University, Abuja, FCT
  5. El-Amin University, Niger State
  6. College of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Kaduna, Kaduna State
  7. Jewel University, Gombe, Gombe State
  8. Nigerian University of Technology and Management, Apapa, Lagos State
  9. Al-Muhibbah Open University, Abuja, FCT
  10. Al-Bayan University, Kogi state

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.