JUST IN: Taraba Assembly Gets New Speaker, Receives List Of Commissioner Nominees


Taraba State House of Assembly on Monday elected Joseph Kunini as the new Speaker, following the resignation of the former Speaker, Abel Diah on Sunday evening.


The House also elected Haman Adama as the new Deputy Speaker, while Douglas Ndatse was elected as the Majority Leader.


At plenary on Monday, the House also received an executive communication from Governor Darius Ishaku containing names of commissioner nominees for screening by the House.


Reading the communication, the new Speaker, fixed Tuesday for the commencement of screening of the 21 commissioner nominees.


Abel Diah resigned citing personal reasons on Sunday following weeks of speculation of a fight between Diah and Governor Ishaku which political watchers say is hinged on the politics of 2023.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.