List Of Bills President Buhari Refused To Sign Into Law Since 2015

President Muhammadu Buhari has on Thursday, declined assent to five more bills passed and sent to him by the National Assembly to sign into law.

This is coming less than eight days after rejecting five bills passed by the upper legislative chamber. 

Igbere TV recalls that Buhari had on Wednesday, March 20, declined assent to five bills sent to him by the National Assembly to sign into law.

With Thursday’s development, the total number of bills passed by the Saraki-led 8th Senate but refused to be signed into law by the Buhari-led administration is put at 31.

The latest rejected bills are: 
1. National Institute of Credit Administration Bill, 2018; 
2. Small and Medium Enterprises Development Agency Bill, 2018; 
3. Ajaokuta Steel Company Completion Fund Bill, 2018; 
4. National Housing Fund Bill, 2018; and
5. Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria Bill, 2018.

Bills rejected last week include:
6. Nigerian Film Corporation Bill, 
7. Immigration (Amendment) Bill, 
8. Climate Change Bill, 
9. Chattered Institute of Pension Practitioners, and;
10. Digital Rights and Freedom Bill.

Other bills rejected by Buhari since assumption of office in 2015 include: 
11. The Petroleum Industry Governance Bill (PIGB),
12. Stamp Duties (Amendment) Bill, 
13. Electoral Act (Amendment) Bill, 
14. Industrial Development (Income Tax Relief) (Amendment) Bill, 
15. National Research and Innovation Council (Est.) Bill, 
16. National Institute of Hospitality and Tourism (Est.) Bill,
17. National Agricultural Seeds Council Bill,
18. Chattered Institute of Entrepreneurship (Est.) Bill, 
19. Advance Fee Fraud and Other Related Offences (Amendment) Bill, 
19. Subsidiary Legislation (Legislative Scrutiny) Bill, and;
20. Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (Amendment) Bill.

Others are:
21. National Transport Commission Bill, 
22. Federal Road Authority (Establishment) Bill, 
23. National Broadcasting Commission Amendment Bill, 
24. National Oil Spill Detection and Response Agency (NOSDRA) Act (Amendment) Bill,
25. Federal Polytechnics Act (Amendment) Bill, 
As well as five constitution amendment bills – which brings it to a total of 31 (documented) rejected bills so far.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.